Monday, April 16, 2007

Names of Recipients of National Honours

It has pleased His Excellency the President of the Republic of Sierra Leone, President Alhaji Dr. Ahmad Tejan Kabbah to award National Honours to selected Sierra Leonean citizens who have distinguished themselves in meritorious service to the nation.

The recipients will be decorated in the various categories of Orders during the Independence Day celebrations on April 27th 2007.

All recipients are being asked to kindly contact the Office of the President if they notice any spelling mistakes in their names as printed in this public notice below or in the official letters informing them of the National Honour.

This is the Final time that President Kabbah will be awarding National Honours and he will be giving a total of 151 people National Honours for their outstanding, distinguished and meritorious service to Sierra Leone.

The list includes the Publisher of the Awareness Times Newspaper, Dr. Sylvia Olayinka Blyden who has now become one of the youngest Sierra Leoneans to ever be awarded such a high National Honour:

Some of names issued from the Office of the President and announced over National Radio:

1. Honourable Justice George Gelega-King

2. Honourable Justice Abdul Gadri Koroma

3. Honourable Dr. Alpha T. Wurie

4. Hon. Joe C. Blell - Deputy Defence Minister

5. Honourable Shirley Yema Gbujama

6. Mr. Sahr Randolph Fillie-Faboe

7. Hon. Mrs. Elizabeth Alpha Lavalie

8. Mr. Sembu Fornah

9. Hon. Abdul Serry Kamal

10. Hon. Amara Conteh

For complete list click here

Source: Names of Recipients of National Honours in Sierra Leone: Sierra Leone News